===============================divider===============================
===============================divider===============================
===============================divider===============================

newest entry archived page contact me about Politically Speaking links rings extras anti-war protest page War: Home and Abroad awards page diaryland

Wednesday, Jul. 02, 2003 - 12:24 a.m.

The Long Awaited Entry

As you can tell, I have been busy the past couple of days working on my layout. And I must say, I am very satisfied with it ::smiles:: I want to thank Windshadow for helping me with the tables and the mouseovers. Hope you all enjoy the revamped layout. Let me know if you cannot find something that was previously listed (I tried to get everything back on here). And now, on with what I know you are all dying for: The News!



The Downward Spiral

According to the latest CNN Poll, Bush is losing support for his Iraqi policies. I guess those constant body bags coming home are starting to wake people up. We can hope anyway.

Things aren't looking so good for our soldiers in Iraq either. Four more soldiers have died and five more were wounded when a mosque was blown up in Iraq. The body bags just keep on coming home and mothers of soldiers are starting to speak out about it. One mother said, I think we need to leave. I think we need to do what we can and get out of there. They are turning on us. We have got to get out of there."

And she is right. This article reports about just how bad things are for our soldiers over there. Moral is down, they aren't able to do their work because of security issues, and they do not know who to trust anymore. The Pentagon is still touting its same ole message, as Rumsfeld puts it: "We are dealing with those remnants in a forceful fashion, just as we have had to deal with the remnants of al Qaeda and Taliban in Afghanistan and tribal areas near Pakistan," he said. "Those battles will go on for some time."

Well you know what? It isn't Rumsfeld or Bush or Cheney or anyone in their families getting their asses blown up in Iraq. It isn't their sons and daughters coming home in body bags. They can scream from the rafters that this is all necessary all they want, but that doesn't make it true. The Iraqis are angry. They believe the USA lied to them. Water is still scarce, electricity is only on for about 5 hours a day, medicine and health coverage is scarce, all of their guns have been taken away, they have no way to defend their families or their businesses from looters, and they are turned away from the over-worked police force if they go to make a complaint. But guess what is up and functioning? The oil wells and the gas stations! Yes, blood isn't the only thing pumping out of Iraq; oil is as well.

Approximately 66 American soldiers have died in Iraq since Bush declared the conflict over on May 1st. How many more of our soldiers have to die before the Bush Administration admits it was wrong?

1 comments so far


previous - next

~Did You Miss These?~

Just a Reminder - Tuesday, Nov. 04, 2003
Ravyne Is Moving - Friday, Oct. 17, 2003
The Mission - Sunday, Oct. 12, 2003
Siege Heil - Thursday, Oct. 09, 2003
Litany Of Lies - Wednesday, Oct. 08, 2003
~Buddies~


Since I have such a huge readers' list for both my Politcal and my Personal diaries, please see my buddy lists for:

Ravynemyst
Ravynespeaks
Ravyne-xtend




Where's Ravyne?

I now collaborate with Chris Vargo, JR. at The Underground Files. Many of my articles can now be found there.



Featured Sites

Is This Your Government?

Penguins Are Geeks Too

Chaos In Motion

Jonas Parker

Republicans

Post 9/11 Timeline




Show your support for a political writer. Check out Lisa Walsh Thomas' book and order your copy today!



Bev Harris' Black Box Voting
Order at Plan Nine Publishing or Visit Scoop to download free chapters of her book




~Vote For My Diary!~





~Get Registered!~

[ Registered ]




~Tag Me!~[Disclaimer: If you do not leave contact information (url or email) and you flame my board, your message will be removed and your IP banned from posting.]

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)






Designed by Ravyne, June 2003, with technical assistance from Windshadow. All rights reserved.
(this means keep your fingers off my template! ::wicked grin::)