===============================divider===============================
===============================divider===============================
===============================divider===============================

newest entry archived page contact me about Politically Speaking links rings extras anti-war protest page War: Home and Abroad awards page diaryland

2003-04-28 - 9:10 p.m.

Oh No, Not the Abortion Issue!

Yes, I am afraid it is definitely time, once again, to discuss the abortion issue. First let me make my stance on abortion perfectly clear so that the flamers out there will know where I stand. I support CHOICE. PERIOD! And here is why: supporting choice has *nothing* to do with supporting abortion or not supporting abortion. It deals only with giving women the *right* to make conscientious choices for their bodies, their lives, and their financial situations. I do *not* support abortion as a means of birth control and I do not support abortions after the first trimester unless it is an endangerment to the mother or the child or both.

With that said, I saw an article from Newsday that suggests that Bush supports making "harming a fetus" a federal crime. Ok, maybe I am going a bit out on a limb here, but this mostly has to do with the case in California where Scott Peterson is accused of killing both his wife and his unborn child. The bill in question is called the Unborn Victims of Violence Act. Sounds nice and morally sound because it deals with prosecuting people who kill a fetus during an act of violence.

Here is my point: if this bill is passed, how long will it be before courts are bombarded with cases against women seeking abortions and calling this an act of violence against an "unborn victim"? If this happens, just keep in mind that any woman anywhere in the US will be forced to bear a child as a result of rape, incest, molestation, and even at the risk of her or the baby's health. Is this really the kind of law we want in a free society? Yes, if Scott Peterson really did these horrible crimes, he does deserve to be punished; however, should free American women, given rights by Roe Vs. Wade, be forced also to pay for his crime?

10 comments so far


previous - next

~Did You Miss These?~

Just a Reminder - Tuesday, Nov. 04, 2003
Ravyne Is Moving - Friday, Oct. 17, 2003
The Mission - Sunday, Oct. 12, 2003
Siege Heil - Thursday, Oct. 09, 2003
Litany Of Lies - Wednesday, Oct. 08, 2003
~Buddies~


Since I have such a huge readers' list for both my Politcal and my Personal diaries, please see my buddy lists for:

Ravynemyst
Ravynespeaks
Ravyne-xtend




Where's Ravyne?

I now collaborate with Chris Vargo, JR. at The Underground Files. Many of my articles can now be found there.



Featured Sites

Is This Your Government?

Penguins Are Geeks Too

Chaos In Motion

Jonas Parker

Republicans

Post 9/11 Timeline




Show your support for a political writer. Check out Lisa Walsh Thomas' book and order your copy today!



Bev Harris' Black Box Voting
Order at Plan Nine Publishing or Visit Scoop to download free chapters of her book




~Vote For My Diary!~





~Get Registered!~

[ Registered ]




~Tag Me!~[Disclaimer: If you do not leave contact information (url or email) and you flame my board, your message will be removed and your IP banned from posting.]

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)






Designed by Ravyne, June 2003, with technical assistance from Windshadow. All rights reserved.
(this means keep your fingers off my template! ::wicked grin::)